Competency models

In 1984, Benner outlined an adaptation of the Dreyfus model of skill acquisition (which was originally developed to train military helicopter pilots) as applied to Nursing  Her model suggests a number of stages on the way to becoming a skilled practitioner. We use a model published by Gillies and Howard, adapted from Benner’s model which defines the competency level required for each skill area in terms of a six level model:

  1. Unskilled /Not Relevant The individual is unable to perform this skill even under instruction or the skill is not required in this role
  2. Novice The individual has little or no experience in this aspect. Able to perform only under close instruction or guidance.
  3. Learner The individual has some experience in this aspect and is able to perform with minimal day-to-day supervision but still requires regular instruction or guidance as new situations arise.
  4. Competent The individual performs in this aspect regularly and is able to work effectively, without supervision, on a day-to-day basis, but may need occasional instruction, guidance or support when confronted with unusual situations.
  5. Proficient Skilful in this aspect. The individual has a wealth of experience and functions with only managerial supervision. Is capable of demonstrating this aspect to others
  6. Expert Highly skilful in this aspect with several years experience. The individual has an intuitive grasp of the aspect and requires no supervision other than clinical governance. Acts as a mentor and innovator in this aspect.

Here’s another one of our films to help explain…

Using our training needs models we can help you with

  • Formal assessment of capability & competency
  •  Nurse revalidation
  •  Highlighting areas for service improvement and progressive care
  •  Supporting improvement planning in the clinical environment
  •  Identifying investment required for the workforce
  • Making best use of scarce training budgets
  •  Identifying product placement on clinical pathway

In addition, we can use a validated instrument for measuring emotional intelligence to investigate attitudes to care